THE SHELL MUSEUM
This structure was erected in 1902 next to the Post Office Tree as an extension to the old mill and was mainly used as a store. In later years Mr. Joe Shirley used the building for his plumbing business, after which it became known as the "Shirley Building". The building was also used as a furniture factory and garage for motor repairs. A concrete platform laid on rough stone boulders was excavated during renovations of the building.
This might have been used for putting the metal rim on ox wagon wheels. The building is still in a very good state of repair and the solid wooden pillars render a special atmosphere to this edifice.
The upper-level of the Shell Museum boasts a collection of beautiful shells from all over the world! On this level there is also a “whale and dolphin exhibit”
This Great White Shark was caught by C. van Aswegen & J. Eksteen in 1981. It weighed 476 kg.
On the lower level the “touch tank” and aquarium enables visitors and school groups to actively learn about sea life and the creatures along South Africa’s shoreline. A “man and mollusc” exhibition portrays the history of the use of shells by man.